CocosBuilder-X

Hello!

I’ve been checking out cocos2d-x for the past 2 months and I like the project. What it bugs me though, is that most of the tools, are Mac only, for example CocosBuilder. Since I myself don’t own one (yet … a Mac), and am using mostly Linux (Ubuntu to be specific), sometimes Windows, I’ve wondered is there any interest of having a WYSWYG editor for other platforms? The CocosBuilder is open source and I’m thinking about porting it to Linux and Windows. The easiest way that I could think of is using Qt, but there could be some licensing issues since using Qt requires the source to be GPLv3 or LGPL. If there would be licensing issues, Vala comes to mind. So my questions are:

Is there anyone who would like to port CocosBuilder to these two platforms, and would like to help?
The other question: Is someone already doing this? If so I would like to join.

Thanks!

I’m new to Cocos2d-X, but I really like it so far. I’m using Visual Studio 2012 Express Edition in Windows 7 (64-bit). I’d be interested in participating in this. Would the wxWidgets license work?

Sorry for such a long (long time) reply. . . I will look into wxWidgets as I’m not familiar with it. The main goal would be to port CocosBuilder to Windows and Linux. I will see what technology/ies to use for easier portability on both platforms.

How about of Qt - http://qt-project.org/ It’s really very good framework for crossplatform development.

Stanko Krstić wrote:

Sorry for such a long (long time) reply. . . I will look into wxWidgets as I’m not familiar with it. The main goal would be to port CocosBuilder to Windows and Linux. I will see what technology/ies to use for easier portability on both platforms.

What are the licensing issues? We’re planning to make the CocoaBuilder source code available, I’m assuming.