[Showcase]I programmed a universe using Cocos Creator

Dear developers, kylin is here. Today, I would like to introduce a developer and the project “Cocosmos” created by him to you. I hope this can showcase the potential of using Cocos Creator for developing non-game 3D projects.

Showcase Link:https://cocosmos.online/

The following is the main content:

Hello everyone, I’m Shengzi, a programmer from a large internet company in China. I have been working on game and front-end interactive development projects for many years, and I also consider myself a part-time astronomy enthusiast. I have extensive experience using the Cocos engine for many years as well.

By chance, I decided to create a web application for showcasing the solar system in my spare time as a technical share within the community.

I chose the web application because it requires no downloads—just click to view. It allows for quick sharing with a broader audience.

Now, without further ado, let me show you some features and technical points in this project.

Hierarchical Display

The Sun is just one of the approximately 200 billion stars in the Galaxy, and the Galaxy itself is just one of around 2 trillion galaxies in the universe.

There are so many celestial bodies in the universe that it’s challenging to describe them in language. Therefore, dividing the vast universe into scale models and rendering it in layers helps Cocosmos present content logically and facilitates resource management.

Cocosmos divides the universe into ten scales, with each scale’s diameter being 3-4 orders of magnitude larger than the previous one (1000~10000 times).

640 (17)

Continuous Zooming