MSVCP100D.dll requirement on release build exe, god why?!

Okay context. I’m using MSVC 2010 express and cocos2d-x 2.1.4 to make a game. And all was, while not hunky dory at least manageable until yesterday. Where I tried to release a win32 exe for testing, refinement, other people to do shit with.

But apparently this was not to be, even though I’ve got it firmly in release and not debug mode to build the exe, even though I’ve untangled/unchecked every cocos2d-x library (denshion, box2d, etc etc) except the core one in the build configuration to make sure they don’t interfere… It still compiles linked to the wrong version of the MSVC runtime dll. I’m not an expert at all the nobs and dials in the compiler settings so I have no idea what I need to do to make sure this doesn’t happen, I’ve never had this problem before.

The real solution is to compile in Release mode and distribute the VC++ 2010 redistributable package. Neither one is sufficient on its own.

Maybe make a quick installer that does this?

This is not the solution to the problem I have. MSVCP100D.dll is according to what research i’ve done before coming here not part of the runtime redistributable package. It’s a debug only version of the MSVCP100.dll DLL and not included in that package. The compiler should compile it with a dependency on MSVCP100.dll not MSVCP100D.dll because it’s in release mode. This is not the case, I do not know why it is not the case. I’d dearly like to know why this is not the case.

Do you have a different search path between debug and release?

Or can you statically link instead?

Or maybe this might help: http://blog.kalmbach-software.de/2008/05/03/howto-deploy-vc2008-apps-without-installing-vcredist_x86exe/