Horseshoe for Android

Hi everyone :smile:

I have ported my game Horseshoe for android from Unity to Cocos2d-x

Google Play

This is the first game that I published to Google Play. I had made it in March, and it took me about a week to learn unity and make the game from scratch.

After that I wanted to make my next game, Split and I found cocos2d-x to be a better tool, so I started learning it. It took me approximately a month to learn the basics of cocos2d-x and complete the game.

I really liked working with Cocos2d-x so I decided to port Horseshoe over from Unity. It was really easy to port and the size of the apk reduced from 18MB to 3MB. I also added a jumping effect when the pieces move with just 4 lines of code.

The only problem I had was that the semi-transparent background in the menu was a rounded rectangle in Unity, but I could not find an easy way to replicate that in Cocos2d-x so I used LayerColor to get a plain rectangle.

Sorry for the long post, and I know that my first two games are really simple but my next game is going to be a lot more complex.

P.S. If people are interested I will put up the source code for Horseshoe for beginners to get started.

1 Like

Could you use DrawNode instead of LayerColor?

I have used DrawNode to create the game board, but I’m not sure how I would go about creating a rounded rectangle with it.

I also considered using Scale9Sprite, is that a good idea?

To be honest, I don’t know a lot about Scale9Sprite, can you tell me what you know about it and I will also make sure I understand and add a section to the Programmers Guide.

@iQD @stevetranby @energyy @SonarSystems @mannewalis @nite

What do you all know about Scale9Sprite?

9 slice sprites are generally used in UI for buttons and such. A stretchable are is defined in the centre and the edges are only stretched along one axis while the corners are not stretched at all.