Help on handling events and updating a label.

Hello all,

First of all. I am new to cocos2d-x and c*+* development. I do have a background in .NET development.

I have done some testing and must say i am impressed with the framework. What I do miss however is some solid documentation / a starting point for development. But as i noticed people are working on that. Good job, thanks!

I have got a question regarding handling events .

My goal is to be able to detect when an image is touched. When the image is touched I want to perform some actions. For example:

• update a label
  • change the image.

I am aware there is a thing like menuItem and MenuItemImage , however I feel those classes won’t do the trick for me on the long term. What i like here is that I can provide a menu_selector, how to implement such a feature myself?

At this moment i have made some tests, i extended the CCSprite class, added some logic to detect a touch and write this to the log. This works as expected.

This however does not allow me to update a label in the parent layer. Question is, how do i do this?

Let’s say we use the HelloWorld project in cocos2d-x 2.0.0.3 to describe my case.

Then II add the following code inside the body of CCScene* HelloWorld::scene()
START CODE:

`CCLayer *MyLayer = CCLayer::Create();

CCSprite *firstImage = CCSprite::Create(“myFirstImage.png”);
CCSprite *secondImage = CCSprite::Create(“mySecondImage.png”);
CCLabelTTF *myLabel = CCLabelTTF::Create(“Start clicking images to start count”, “Arial”, 16);

scene->AddChild(firstImage);
scene->AddChild(secondImage);
scene->AddChild(myLabel);`
END CODE

How do I update the label when an image is clicked in the scenario above?

I would like a solution similar to the following approach:

• add a method to the HelloWorld class named (void?) anImageWasTouched(someParamType paramValue, CCNode pSender)