Xml Parsing in cocos2dx

Hello, I am a beginner in cocos2dx. Can anyone help me with xml parsing please?
I have a simple xml file, dict.xml like this …
@

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?> Ant @

I want to load this xml file in project, and display the word “Ant” in my project … what is the best way to do it?
Can anyone give an example basic code with steps clearly explained? I tried searching it elsewhere but no help.
Thank You.

Hello

I use pugixml

It is very straightforward and there is good tutorials on the website. It works very fast and works on every platform my game is running (Win, iOS and Android) along with cocos2dx.

Good luck!

You can use tinyxml (the latest one is tinyxml-2).
You may write yourself or wait for the release (http://www.cocos2d-x.org/issues/616)

Thanks for reply … I used pugixml… Its easy to use :slight_smile:

@joe espindola ….
I used pugixml in my project … It is working perfect when I use it in win32, but the same project when I run in android irt says that the “xml file not found” . I have my xml file in the resources folder. Do I have to make any changes in pugixml for android?? or the filepath?? Please help its urgent … Thank You.

I’m looking for the same answer as well and “CCFileUtils::fullPathFromRelativePath” doesn’t seem to help either! In short, how can we get the path to our assets folder?

Thanks in advance…

Sorry for such a late response! I was so busy i did not had the time to look in my code.

I came up with this issue as well! load_file did not worked under pugixml.

What i did was use cocos2dx CCFileData to get the buffer of the XML and pass it to pugixml using the load_buffer method.

Here is my code:

CCFileData data("myfile.xml", "rb");

unsigned char* pBuffer = data.getBuffer();
unsigned long nSize = data.getSize();

pugi::xml_parse_result result = pugiDocumentLoader_.load_buffer(pBuffer, nSize);

Thanks for the speedy response!