Trying to resize scene on orientation change

hello,

I am totally new to Cocos2d, please forgive my ignorance.

I am trying to adapt to different screen sizes and orientations in my game. So far I am writing for iOS. I have added UISupportedInterfaceOrientations to Info.plist with both landscape and portrait modes. Then I modified RootViewController.mm and changed shouldAutorotateToInterfaceOrientation to return YES for both landscape and portrait:

- (BOOL)shouldAutorotateToInterfaceOrientation:(UIInterfaceOrientation)orientation {
    return UIInterfaceOrientationIsLandscape(orientation) || UIInterfaceOrientationIsPortrait(orientation);

now when I rotate the device (the simulator), it rotates the view, but the scale does not change, so in landscape mode the top portion of the scene is hidden.

my question is how to deal with this and how to change the size of my view while preserving the aspect ratio in response to orientation change?

thanks!
konstantin

What did you mean “the scale does not change”?

I have attached screenshots. as you see the top image shows the landscape mode. I need the game to scale proportionally so that the whole scene is visible vertically.

thanks for your help.

I also have met the similar issue after updating from 2.0-rc0a to 2.0.2.
When I setup app orientation to landscape (in XCode project settings) the director is initialized in portrait mode.
From debugging I can say that director initializes m_obScreenSize and m_obDesignResolutionSize from UIWindow bounds (portrait orientation).
Would be thankful for right approach.

I had the exact same problem but finally figured it out after many trial and error attempts.
Let me share my workaround to achieve multi-orientation, multi-size. :slight_smile:

For iOS:

1. Comment out assert(m_eResolutionPolicy == kResolutionUnKnown); in cocos2dx/platform/ios/CCEGLView.mm::setContentScaleFactor(...).