Sprite Sheet Animation

Hey everyone.

I’m very new to cocos-2d and I would like to let you know about an issue that had me stumped for a whole day and which could be improved in the documentation. Let me know if I can help.

I was trying to add a sprite animation and from scouring the internet I found out that one possible way was to load each sprite manually and then tie them together to an animation by hand. It is mentioned that a better way to do this is to use plist files which reduce the amount of legwork necessary to get the animation into the game.

So first of all, I created a plist file of my animation frames using TexturePacker (I’m on PC). When I tried to load them into the game, I got an error because the game did not like my plist file.

My problem was that I didn’t know that there are two caches: SpriteFrameCache and AnimationCache and that each has their own plist files and you need both to load an animation. The problem was that I incorrectly tried to load the frame plist file into the AnimationCache.

What made my problem worse was that there seems to be no software on PC that can write the plist file for AnimationCache and the format is not well documented (or I missed it). Luckily I stumbled upon an example from the cpp-tests project that had an animation plist file included.

So in order to save other people from the same headaches I had, I would propose extending the Beginner’s Guide by a section explaining how to get sprite sheet animations into the game. I would outline it like this:

• There are two caches, SpriteFrameCache and AnimationCache
  • In order to define an animation in AnimationCache, its sprites must be present in the SpriteFrameCache
  • Load Sprites into the SpriteFrameCache by calling SpriteFrameCache::getInstance()->addSpriteFramesWithFile(“spritesheet.plist”);
  • The plist file can be automatically generated by [list of tools]