Moving from cocos2d-iphone to cocos2d-x

Hi guys!

I am an experienced cocos2d-iphone developer and I am currently trying out cocos2d-x to port my game from iOS to Android. I have NO experience in Android development whatsoever, so I kindly ask for some startup advice :slight_smile:

1. STARTUP
    First of all, I am having problems with HelloWorld in the emulator. The cpp project created with python script builds ok, but emulator is black and after some time it only displays “android”. I have created and deleted many emulators, all had host gpu ticked, but none actually worked. The console is silent (shows nothing after finishing the build). I am using cocos2d-x 2.2 Android NDK r9c and ADT 22.3.

2. DEVICES
    I currently have no device with Android, I was hoping to play with the emulator first. But what device do I need? Is it important to support devices before Android 4, or my life will be much easier with 4+ ? Also, the question about resolutions - should I have more than one device and at least one tablet?

3. READING
    Are there any good books about cocos2d-x Android development?

4. MISC
    If you have any advice for a freshman, plase shoot me. Like, do I need any Android license (at which step) ? Is it ok to use Eclipse IDE for cpp development? What is logcat and is it more important than regular console? I know this all sounds very noobish but any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Try follow this tutorial

Usually aim at 2.3.3 which I believe is android-10 is fine, which means you can deploy to both kindle and google play

I find android doc by google and stackoverflow pretty sufficient, cocos2d-x it self shouldn’t be hard since you know cocos2d-iphone

You’ll need to create dev account on Amazon or google depends on which one you want to publish.
Eclipse for cpp is a PAIN! It will report syntax error on perfectly fine code. Have to learn to ignore that, but otherwise it’s ok to use, because you need it for debugging.