How to add glowing border effects to a MenuItemImage?

Hi, I’m new to cocos2d and I’m trying to make a menu. I created a MenuItemImage here:

mSetting = MenuItemImage::create("setting.png", "setting_selected.png");

Now I’m looking for a way to add glowing effect to the border of it in stead of a boring static setting_selected.png image.

(for example: the light-blue glowing border of the menu image here , check at 1:00 https://youtu.be/PJSlvhDbB4I?t=1m).
Your attention and help is very much appreciated :smiley:

I’m lost and really need a solution for this. If you don’t have time to guide me step by step, please leave a keyword so that I know where to start with. Thanks a lot.

I don’t know of an easy way to do this, so probably a custom shader can be a solution.

1 Like

Do you mean I have to custom the shader in engine? If so, is there any specific tutorial showing how to do similar task out there? Most of them just show me how to use the engine not custom it.
I have another idea that using a sprite with square shape, which exactly fits the menu item to make it looks like the border of it. Then make it animate (changing color) to show glowing effects likes how they do in the video. Is that possible and easier to do the job?

its fine using another sprite imo.

1 Like

But if you want shaders… @stevetranby has written some really good ones.

you can check em out.

3 Likes

glowshader.zip (1.6 KB)

2 Likes

@stevetranby Would you mind sparing sometime to help me with this please?

I don’t know of any tutorial on how to change the shader, but there are examples in cpp-tests.

What are your questions?

My repo is sort of half-baked in the sense that I never went back and cleaned things up and I think one or two of the original ObjC cocos2d-iPhone examples are not ported yet.

ExampleBase shows how the shaders are attached, uniforms updated, and how to create GLProgramState from shader files.