Help with memory management in C++

I’m new to C++ and I would like to know if this is the right way to allocate/deallocate cocoS2d-x objects. Note that I’ve commented image->release(); because I had a linker error about it. Not sure if it’s because I’m not supposed to release an image or if I have a config problem (using cocos2d-x v1 on xCode 4.3).

CCImage *image=new CCImage();
image~~>initWithImageFileThreadSafe);
CCTexture2D texture=new CCTexture2D;
texture~~>initWithImage;
//image~~>release;
CCSprite
pSprite = CCSprite::spriteWithTexture;
texture~~>release();

// position the sprite on the center of the screen
pSprite~~>setPosition );
// add the sprite as a child to this layer
this~~>addChild(pSprite, 0);

I just wrote a wiki page for your question [[Memory Management in Cocos2d-x]]

Thx. It’s almost identical to what we’re doing on objective c cocos2d iphone.

Should I call image->release(); or not? It makes a linker error Undefined symbols for architecture i386: "cocos2d::CCImage::release()", referenced from:HelloWorld::init() in HelloWorldScene.o

I think that you should have image~~>relese if you are using it like in the example from the first post and I don’t understand why it would not work. Can anyone confirm this? Also I have a question when I should NOT release an object if I create it with new operator? I have something like this:
<pre>
CCTexture2D texture = new CCTexture2D;
texture~~>initWithImage;
mSprite~~>setTexture; // this will retain texture
texture~~>release;
</pre>
And I noticed that this gives me a crash for example when CCImage from mImage is NULL or is to large because initWithImage from CCTexture2D has something like this:
<pre>
bool CCTexture2D::initWithImage
{
if
{
CCLOG (“cocos2d: CCTexture2D. Can’t create Texture. UIImage is nil”);
this~~>release;
return false;
}
</pre>