Having issues with tilemaps

Hey guys!

I’m new to these forums and I’m just getting started learning to work with Cocos2d-x. I’ve been following this C++ tutorial on working with TileMaps:

I have a tilemap which is 32px times 50 tiles - 1600x1600 px. When I try to calculate the position of the tilemap layer so that it’s positioned properly relative to the player I get a bunch of weird issues. I believe it has something to do with support for high dpi screens but it’s weird since my laptop’s screen is just 13" and 1600x900, so it shouldn’t be considered “high dpi”. I’ll share some pictures to show my problem (My code is exactly the same as in the tutorial)…

This is my result when I run the code from the tutorial as it is (the layer is positioned way out of view):

If I alter the setPosition call in the positioning code from the tutorial:

void HelloWorld::setViewPointCenter(CCPoint position) {

CCSize winSize = CCDirector::sharedDirector()->getWinSize();

int x = MAX(position.x, winSize.width/2);
    int y = MAX(position.y, winSize.height/2);
    x = MIN(x, (_tileMap->getMapSize().width * this->_tileMap->getTileSize().width) - winSize.width / 2);
    y = MIN(y, (_tileMap->getMapSize().height * _tileMap->getTileSize().height) - winSize.height/2);
    CCPoint actualPosition = ccp(x, y);

CCPoint centerOfView = ccp(winSize.width/2, winSize.height/2);
    CCPoint viewPoint = ccpSub(centerOfView, actualPosition);
    this->setPosition(viewPoint);
}

So that the end of it looks like this instead:

CCPoint viewPoint = ccpSub(centerOfView, actualPosition);
    this->setPosition(viewPoint.x/2, viewPoint.y/2);

I get a more accurately positioned layer (but not completely and I also have some rendering artifacts + it’s not scaled correctly if you refer to the TileMap editor’s view):