Display error if resolution of device less than the canvas size.

Hie,

How to throw an alert message if user tries to access the game which is having larger resolution than the canvas defined?
My game canvas size is 1024*768 .if a user tries to access in device less than the size how should i throw the message your device does not support for this game.

You can show a message to user, like this: alert(“bla bla”);
or redirect to the other page which shows error message.

I suggest the game supports multiple resolution to adapt user’s device.
It is more user-friendly.

Hie Dingping,

Can you please be more clear on this?
or
Can you post me the link to example code for the same as i am a newbie?
I have one doubt when loading the html file itself we are defining our canvas size but how does we load the canvas of lower resolution according to user device dynamically.Any help on this is greatly helpful to me as i need to meet my deadlines.?

Look at the “template” project in v2.2.2 (or latest from github). The canvas automatically resizes to the browser size, but the width and height that you define don’t change.

Here’s a lenghtier and propper explanation on the subject:
http://www.cocos2d-x.org/wiki/Understand_the_Resolution_Policy_in_Cocos2d-html5_222

Hie seb,

My canvas size is 1024*768 for now.I i want the game to run on mobiles as well.My game has the drag and drop events.I have hardcoded the location values according to the convenience in the game file.IF the canvas resizes then my location values goes for a toss right.Should i define all my location values in terms of size.width and size.height of the window for the game to work on all devices.

I want the game to be only in landscape mode can i restrict the user to play only in landscape mode .I mean if user changes the orientation the the screen should remain in landscape only

abhiram talluri wrote:

Hie seb,