Can't run my .exe apps

Hey guys, let me say 1st off, I’m a fairly new programmer. I’ve only been working with c++ for about a year, and I’ve just started dabbling in cocos2d-x this week.

I initially had troubles getting cocos2d-x to work with my visual studio express IDE, and when trying to start a project by opening the SLN file in the main branch of the cocos2d-x folder, the libraries and classes don’t want to compile. I worked around this by using the VCXPROJ files in the templates folder.

So I opened up the hellocpp project from the windows template directory and started messing around with the code so I can grasp the different libraries within cocos2d-x. While I have no problem building or debugging programs, when I run the .exe application in the release folder the application immediately crashes.

Why won’t my windows applications run?

My specs :

O/S : Windows 7 64bit - fresh install
CPU : AMD Phenom II x6 1055t
Mobo : Asus Crosshair IV
GPU : Nvidia gtx480
Drivers : All drivers are up to date.

Sounds like you are building the wrong place or your files aren’t all getting correctly copied to ‘Release’

1. “Don’t want to compile” Too vague, post the exact errors
  2. “immediately crashes” Too vague, what does the error say?
  3. “no problem building or debugging programs” — Under what Active Solution Configuration?

The more specific your questions are, the more likely you’ll get help. We’re all programmers here, so give us programmer details.

Cory Trese wrote:

Sounds like you are building the wrong place or your files aren’t all getting correctly copied to ‘Release’
>

1. “Don’t want to compile” Too vague, post the exact errors
  2. “immediately crashes” Too vague, what does the error say?
  3. “no problem building or debugging programs” — Under what Active Solution Configuration?
    >
    The more specific your questions are, the more likely you’ll get help. We’re all programmers here, so give us programmer details.