Tutorial: Improving Your DrawCall in Cocos Creator 2D Games

Improving Your DrawCall in Cocos Creator 2D Games

When it comes to game performance optimization, DrawCall is absolutely inevitable. “Cocos Star Writer” summer flock discusses custom node tree order rendering that could help to optimize DrawCall.

Here the author provides some ways to change the rendering order, and the code is not standardized. But we think this idea is great to look at. In addition, no large-scale testing has been done here, and it is impossible to predict whether this modification will cause unknown errors. If you want to use actual projects, please test more.

I was caught in an interview a few days ago and asked a series of questions about DrawCall. It’s a pity that I have been making 3D games for the past two years, and I have hardly paid any attention to DrawCall in 2D. I can only say that the answer is reluctant. So after I came back, I learned about the source code of Cocos, and gave birth to a rendering submission order that bypassed the node tree, and maximized the effect of merging DrawCall by specifying the submission order of each node. After an afternoon of trials, I finally gained something.

Principles of DrawCall Merging

Picture1

The picture above is a list that is commonly used in games. Let’s take a look at this list:

• content is the parent node of the list

• green0, green1, green2 are the cells of the three lists

• Each cell consists of green (green picture), yellow (yellow picture), label0 (a bmf text)

• The green picture and the yellow picture have been included in the same sticker collection

Then if the rendering batch is submitted according to Cocos’s traditional deep access layout of the number of nodes, the submission order will be:

Canvas → Camera → content → green0 → yellow0 → label0 → green1 → yellow1 → label1 → green2 → yellow2 → label2