[Solved] Android-ndk-r10d error: 'to_string' is not a member of 'std'

i’m using cocos2d-x 3.4 with android-ndk-r10d, and when i run the

cocos run -p android -j 4

i have this problem :

error: 'to_string' is not a member of 'std' 

My Application.mk file:

APP_STL := gnustl_static

APP_CPPFLAGS := -frtti -DCC_ENABLE_CHIPMUNK_INTEGRATION=1 -std=c++11 -fsigned-char
APP_LDFLAGS := -latomic

ifeq ($(NDK_DEBUG),1)
  APP_CPPFLAGS += -DCOCOS2D_DEBUG=1
  APP_OPTIM := debug
else
  APP_CPPFLAGS += -DNDEBUG
  APP_OPTIM := release
endif

Please help me.

Kind regards.

1 Like

Hmm…

I’m still learning cocos2d-x so I my answer might not be the best one…

I’ve encountered that same problem when I tried to run my game (which had std::to_string() on several places).
I solved with that I replaced

std::to_string(val);

with

Value::Value(val).asString();

which works on Android.

I hope that helps… and that someone else can provide a better answer.

I use this on Android, but you could replace the core with Aurioch’s value conversion. You could also use a string formatter instead if you know the value utils::StringUtils::format("%d", 1);

#include <string>
#include <sstream>

namespace std
{
    template < typename T > std::string to_string( const T& n )
    {
        std::ostringstream ss;
        ss << n ;
        return ss.str() ;
    }
}

Edit: added necessary headers

2 Likes

Thanks, but do i have to put this code in each cpp file?

Yes, but you can put it in a header file and just include that instead. You can then add other templates that you want to use/add.

i have this error : Use of undeclared identifier 'to_string'; did you mean 'std::to_string'?

i have added using namespace std;, and now i have this error:

FATAL:/aaa/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/../libexec/as/x86_64/as: I don't understand 'm' flag!
make: *** [obj/local/armeabi/objs/cocos2dcpp_shared/hellocpp/main.o] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....