Object/Particle pool memory problem

Object/Particle pool memory problem
0.0 0

Hey all,
I’m trying to make a good particle/object pool manager for myself, and it works good - until I restart the Scene and try to use it again… I’m a beginner at c++ so maybe it’s something easy I’m missing. Anyways, here are some more details…

Usage:

fxMgr = Fx::create();
fxMgr->retain();
greenStarPoolIdx = fxMgr->addPool(fxNode, Fx::FxType::GREEN_STAR, 2);

later

auto star = fxMgr->getGreenStar(greenStarPoolIdx);

(do something with the star)

I recently made it so that the Fx class inherits from Ref. I used to have it as a unique_ptr to avoind having to deal w/ memory management, when changed it to inherit Ref to let cocos handle it instead.
Since I called retain, I have this in my scene’s destructor (can’t use addChild on it since it doesn’t inherit Node):

fxMgr->release();

Inside the Fx class; (except for methods for getting particles and adding object pools):

virtual ~Fx();
Fx();
Vector<ParticlePool*> _pools; <- used have it as std::vector<ParticlePool*>
ParticlePool.h (also inherits from Ref now to use cocos's own reference counting)

int particleIdx;
Vector<Node*> _pool;
virtual ~ParticlePool();
ParticlePool();

public:
Node* nextItem();
void add(Node* item);
static ParticlePool* create();

particle pool destructor

ParticlePool::~ParticlePool()
{
	CCLOG("pool dtor");

for (size_t i = 0; i < _pool.size(); i++)
	{
		_pool.at(i)->release();
	}
}

Now, to the problem
When going to another scene, using breakpts, I can see the destructors for the Fx- and ParticlePool class being called, but not my GreenStar class (which the pool is holding).

Edit: updated the constructor to call release on all the items, now the destructor is called for those classes too. But I thought cocos Vectors would do this automatically? I don’t need to delete _pool though, right?