Memory management for static variables

Hi, I am new to Cocos2d-x and I am still getting used to creating and initializing classes without constructors. I have read up on the memory management and autorelease pools, but I have a couple of questions:

First of all, do you add everything to the autorelease pool or do you sometimes use constructors and destructors aswell.
Further, how do static variables interact with the autorelease pool? Say I have a class managed by an autorelease pool and I want to assign it to a static variable of another class like so:

static MyClass* var = MyClass::create();
this->addChild(var); // is this even necessary?

What happens to var once all instanced of MyClass are released? Do I need to add var as a child to avoid it getting deleted automatically?

1 Like

If you want to make sure an autorelease object isn’t released, then simply call retain() on it. When you’re done with it, call release(). There must always be a matching release() for each retain() that is called on the object. Look up the details of those functions to understand what they do. There are plenty of comments in the CCRef.cpp and CCRef.h files on how this all works.

Aside from that, what reason is there for you to want to use statics for these types of objects? If you’re thinking of making these as global variables, then I strongly suggest you re-think your design.

2 Likes

or maybe use a dreaded singleton to at least not make everything static.

2 Likes

Do it like @R101 said.
var->reatin(); //adds 1 to the reference counter
var->release(); //subtracts 1 to the reference counter

Maybe I expressed myself poorly, I don’t want to create a static class, I have a static member of type class. I am trying to implement a state machine and I follow the guide from gameprogrammingpatterns where he uses static variables to create instances of the different states the player character can be in.