Help me create a basic clicker game to start learning Cocos Creator

Hi everyone!

I’m just beginning with Cocos Creator and I struggle to understand the engine.
I’d like to create a very basic game with no physics (as opposed to the documentation first project tutorial) to start getting the hang of things. So I want to make a very basic clicker game.

I’ll try to build it with your help. I’ll be describing my process in very precise details in order to help others understand the engine as well.

Here is what I did so far:

• First, I created an empty project from the dashboard.
  • I wanted to change the game resolution of the project so I selected the Canvas node in the Node Tree panel to change the Design Resolution properties to 320x180 of the Canvas component in the Properties panel. It seems that the Size properties of the Node is locked and I don’t know if the Design Resolution properties are the good way of changing the game resolution. Am I doing it right or is there another way to control that?
  • Next, I added an image file 32x32 (png format) inside the assets folder.
  • Since I wanted a pixel art style, I selected the image asset in the Assets panel to show its properties in the Property panel. I changed the Filter Mode property to Point.
  • I dragged the image asset from the Assets panel inside the scene editor to create a Node with a Sprite component assigned to that image.
  • I wanted the sprite to appear at a random position inside the canvas. I guessed I had to create a script asset and then attach it as a component to the sprite node. Then I would use the start method to set the position of the sprite at the time of its creation with some random function.

So I created a JavaScript script asset and I changed the start method as such:

start () {
        this.node.x = Math.floor(Math.random() * 320);
        this.node.y = Math.floor(Math.random() * 180);
    }