FMOD and cocos2d-x

I want to use FMOD as my audio engine for my game. I wonder why there is no any simple C++ wrapper for it and that works with cocos2d-x for iOS and android.
You can say that this is https://github.com/fmod/EarthWarrior3D but I will say, just no, that it.

In my game I need simple functions such as play, stop, pause, fade, pitch and so on for “.caf”, “mp4” and “.wav”, “.ogg”. I’m just looking for wrapper that helps me easy integrate FMOD with cocos2d-x. I’m very new to C++ and it’s hard for me to deal with this. Is anyone here already done this? Really looking for help.

@dumganhar any ideas?

@anon98020523
Sorry, I can’t help you since I have not used FMOD.
If you wanna use FMOD, I think you should refer to the official website and read their documentation.
Then, it will be easier for you to wrap it in c++.

AudioEngine-linux.h

#ifndef __AUDIO_ENGINE_LINUX_H_
#define __AUDIO_ENGINE_LINUX_H_

#include <functional>
#include <iostream>
#include <map>
#include "fmod.hpp"   ## bomp
#include "fmod_errors.h"
#include "audio/include/AudioEngine.h"
1 Like

@dumganhar yea… what strange, even creators of FMOD ignores asking for help:
https://github.com/fmod/ue4integration/issues/10 I’ve created this issue in ue repo because other thier without issues. Anyway, I even contacted them asking for help, but they ignore and again pointing to that old not updated example for 3d cocos…

I really wonder why cocos not using FMOD for iOS and android? It’s stable and powerfu, has no bugs at all and it’s free. Closed source? Who cares… you never need it.

seems there is another audio engine

1 Like

Hmm, looks interesting. Limbo used FMOD but INSIDE used Wwise… playdead chosen another for some reason…

iOS,Android,Mac

I’ve asked them by support and answer was really rude, like they really don’t care…
Also https://github.com/superpoweredSDK/Low-Latency-Android-Audio-iOS-Audio-Engine/issues/305

Thank you for registering your project!