Blur at pause works very slow

I’ve tried this code examples

1. [Cocos3.8 Tutorial] RenderTexture + Blur
  2. https://github.com/cocos2d/cocos2d-x/blob/v3/tests/cpp-tests/Classes/ShaderTest/ShaderTest.cpp#L341

First works really fast, but about 0.9-1.2 sec. And second example give me about 3 seconds of processing. Thats all anyway too slow.

So, what I’m doing - render all scene at pause using RenderTexture and then applying blur using that methods.

I want a speed like this(tested on iPod Touch 5G, it’s really old and slow device, but blur works really fast):

Example from badland 2. Also badland 1 has a bit different blur as I remember, but works flawless too on old device and by the way its made with cocos2d-x :wink: .

How I can do this? This is possible, but how? Anyone? @zhangxm @Victor_K

Are you creating another FBO to apply shader on whole scene?

Ahh yea, forgot to say, I’m complete noob in all that, so I just used a code. Ideally I just want some fast native component in cocos2d-x which works fast… so I just need to use a simple line like blur bg or smt.

There is a possibility to make this thing fast. if we can avoid to create another frameBuffer object and can get directt texture from renderQueue we can manage to apply shader to it. Thank we can push multiple layers over it to use multiple shaders at a time. tell me if you find it. I am also stucked :wink: OR what we can do is tell the renderer to not use default fbo and use our own. but how thats a little trick.

Programmers who created badland know answer for sure. So sad, that they used this engine but never posting any suggestions on the forum. I just want to ask them - hot to make same kind of blur as in their game.

seriously many people are still developing cool games using this engine still now a days. but hardly very few of them helps to others in community.

Hi,
Are you doing the render to texture inside the Draw function?