Android studio and c++ sources

Android studio and c++ sources

Hello

I’m porting some old Cocos2D / Objective-C projects to Cocos2D-X / C++

I can compile the iOS version and get everything working smoothly, but when I try to use Android studio I get lost.

1. Where are my .h and .cpp files? I browsed all the subfolders in the left panel but I couldn’t find any of them.

2. Is it true that the simulator doesn’t work at all? Do I need and android device in order to test my apps?
    (Can't get CPP game to compile or run for android)

3. Is there a better IDE for Android? Maybe Eclipse?
    (I’m not an Android expert nor do I like Java, so I am a newbie in Android development.)

thank you

MandarX

Hi.

1. There should be a Folder named like your Game Title. Expand it. In this Folder Structure you will find cpp->MyGame->Classes. There you will find all header and source files.

2. The Simulators work fine. Just create one with the AVD-Manager. Your PC/Mac should have enough memory. otherwise it will be slow. Testing on Device is faster/better. I would recommend to use real Devices for testing purpose.

3. Eclipse is no longer supported by Google. So Android Studio is the way you have to go. At first I preferred xcode too (I also started with IOS)… but Android Studio now has the same quality.

1. In Android.mk plz make sure to have this lines:

LOCAL_SRC_FILES_JNI_PREFIXED := $(wildcard
    $(LOCAL_PATH)/…/…/…/Classes/.cpp)
    $(wildcard
    $(LOCAL_PATH)/…/…/…/Classes/**/
    .cpp)
    $(wildcard
    $(LOCAL_PATH)/…/…/…/Classes/**/*.c)

And rebuild.

1. You’re on a Mac? In my iMac, Android Emulators doesn’t works. It was impossible for me.

2. I trust in Google. Android Studio.

thank you

there is not a Classes folder :frowning:

Thank you

I added those lines but I still can’t see the cpp sources

This is my left panel

a lot of Gradle stuff
I can find my assets, but no code at all…