Am I must install ttf to make custom font label on windows?

Am I must install ttf to make custom font label on windows?

I am developing on windows.

Recently, I spend much time to use custom font label.

I fixed engine code that reference with http://www.cocos2d-x.org/forums/6/topics/32189, http://www.cocos2d-x.org/forums/6/topics/14665.

But it wasn’t fixed.

Today, I found IF install that ttf, then I can use that font to make label.

But I think that it’s so strange… isn’t it?

And it looks like when I create CCLabelTTF, it needs FONT NAME not font file name. Is it right?

Hi,
I’m a noob. But digging in the code for Win32. But yes there seems to be a problem there to display fonts that are not already installed on windows

Looking at the windows specific code for BitmapDC there seems to be a few bugs in the code.

I did find a workaround that requires no code chages: Call setFontName on the label like this

`CCLabelTTF* pLabel = CCLabelTTF::create("Hello World", "fonts/Felt.ttf", 24);`
   `pLabel->setFontName("fonts/Felt.ttf");`

Note
The name of the ttf file MUST match the font face inside. So Mark_Felt.ttf that is provided by the examples can’t be loaded and must be renamed to Felt.ttf the name of the font

The reason this happens:

1. The code to add the Font Resource from file is incorrectly placed in a block that is only called when removing a previously loaded font: see BitmapDC::setFont in platform/win32/CCImage.cpp:160

2. The font-face to load in the call CreateFontIndirectA is generated from the file name (taking the file name without the extension) however TTF files contain the font-face name in the definition. That means that if the font-face is not the same as the file name the operation will fail.
    An example it the Marker Felt.ttf provided as an example. The font-face in the TTf file is Felt so it will not load correctly without renaming.

Additional Issues: