zlib support

hi all…

I’m new to the tech so this is probably a naive question. My code uses zlib across android and IOS. I see headers in platform/third_party/win32/zlib and corresponding libzlib.lib in win32/libraries but the version is different from what I’m using on OSX to compress the data and I get an error on uncompress. It would be nice if I could debug the zlib code to see the specifics, but no luck… in fact I don’t see the uncompress.c in the cocos2d-x source tree on github so I’m not sure how the library is getting built.

I suppose i could create my own x-platform build of zlib under external in the same manner as Chipmunk, but this would be work and perhaps there is an easier way.

Any suggestions appreciated!
thanks

I also have other bits of custom code that are best put into libraries so if there is documentation about properly extending Cocos2D-X to do this just point me to it. A quick search of the wiki didn’t turn up anything but I may have missed it. If it doesn’t exist please let me know and I’ll figure out how to do it, probably using Chipmunk or Box2D as an example. Maybe this is not the best way but I already have x-platform builds of the code and it isn’t highly OS-specific.

Cocos2d-x depends on lots of 3rd libraries. Compiling these 3rd libraries brings about 50% of porting job of each platform, some of them are very tricky.
To make the framework easier to start with, that’s the reason why I put binaries there.

My suggestion is that,

1. Start from iOS or windows, add zlib source code into xcode/vs then find the crash point. iOS and Windows have better graphical IDE to work with, it will make your work easier.
  2. Then use the fixed zlib source code on android. You can find documents from android ndk to write the android.mk file for zlib.