Unable to get helloworld working...?

So, I have been an iOS dev for about 3 years now, but porting my current game to android is my first trip down that rabbit hole. And oh what a doozy it is becoming. ;)
I have followed a mix of the installation instructions from this site as well as the official android site, and I think I ALMOST have it, however I am now running into an issue getting the cocos2d helloworld to compile correctly. Please be fair warned that I have NO java experience, so please be brutally honest if I am just missing something little and dumb. Thanks. Here is what I have done so far.
NOTE: Development environment is OSX
Snow Leopard 64bit & cocos2d-1.0.1-x-0.9.1

1. Downloaded the android SDK and unzipped it to /Developer-android/android-sdk-mac_x86
  2. Downloaded the android NDK and unzipped it to /Developer-android/android-ndk-r6
  3. Ran the Android SDK and AVD Manager. Installed ALL non third party packages, and created a “Test” virtual device.
  4. Installed Eclipse (Against my better judgment, tried it before, and HATED it). If anyone knows how to make all of this work with XCode4 I will totally buy you lunch
  5. Installed the ADT plugin for eclipse.
  6. Ran the “create-android-project.sh” and created my project with a target of 2.1 update 1.
  7. Ran chmod ~~R a+rw on the project folder since for some reason all the perms were set to read only.
  8. Ran chmod on the “build_native.sh” inside of the new projects android folder since it was not allowing execute by default.
  9. Ran the “build_native.sh” within the android folder of the new project.
    So far so good, I think….