Ref* pSender when and why?

Can someone tell me difference between when and why Ref* pSender is needed?

I’ve noticed that following is the combination.
Whenever I used with CC_CALLBACK, I’ve to use Ref* pSender in the function parameter.
But if we see CC_CALLBACK macro, it is also simply std::bind

MenuItemImage *settingsBtn = MenuItemImage::create("path1.png", "path2.png", CC_CALLBACK_1(HelloWorld::callBack, this));

void HelloWorld::callBack(Ref* pSender) { }
MenuItemImage *settingsBtn = MenuItemImage::create("path1.png", "path2.png", std::bind(&HelloWorld::callBack, this);

void HelloWorld::callBack() { }

I bet @grimfate has an amazing answer for this :slight_smile:

haha I’m not sure about that. Unfortunately I’m not an expert in this area and it it seems a little difficult to figure out exactly what is happening here. But I’ll try explain.

So, MenuItemImage::create can be provided a callback function and that callback function is a ccMenuCallback&, which is a typedef for std::function<void(Ref*)>. As you have noted, CC_CALLBACK_1 is just a macro for a std::bind call. So when the callback is set for your second code example, it is basically doing this:

std::function<void(Ref*)> callback = std::bind(&HelloWorld::callBack, this);

For some reason, even though HelloWorld::callBack (in the second example) takes no parameters and the callback is called with a Ref* object as a parameter (_callback(this); in the MenuItem class), this is still valid code that compiles and works.