Pro Strategy Football

Back in 2011, I created my first iOS game, Pro Strategy Football. I developed the coaching and resolution in my Master’s project back in the early 90s, and actually sat with Coach Tom Landry for several hours. Last year, I rewrote the game in C++ and switched from cocos2d to cocos2d-x so that I could publish it on Android as well. I’m thrilled with all the functionality in cocos2d-x, and now I’m folding in SDKBOX as well.

My game now runs great on Windows, and I’m trying to get it Greenlit on Steam (I would really appreciate any of you checking it out at http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/608100059, and if you like it, please vote Yes.

I want to thank all the hard workers who have continued to improve cocos2d-x into such a powerful engine!

1 Like

Wow! This looks good. Can you tell us more about your Masters project? Do you have a PDF of your work?

Thank you! I’d have to find it, I completed my Master’s back in 1992 (showing my age here!), and I have the print out somewhere. I actually have all the interviews with Coach Landry, though, and someday, I should write a book or something.

The original game was actually released as “Tom Landry Strategy Football” but the company who was selling it folded. Thankfully, I knew the president of the company very well, and he gave me a letter verifying that the product and code belonged to me, not to them, that I had just licensed it to them.

Unfortunately, the game didn’t do that great, because I focused only on coaching and couldn’t use real names, while Madden was … well, Madden. :smile: