Overlap2D - Promising Level Editor

Good evening people, i recently learned about a relatively new tool called “Overlap2D”. I immediately fall in love with the simplicity and the features of it, i believe it is what’s missing from Cocos2d-x from making it a mainstream game development framework. A full fledged level editor. I know that a lot of work has been put in “CocosCreator”, but as a C++ developer i find it very unlikely to move to JS just for the sake of its level editor. The problem is, Overlap2D needs a Cocos2dx custom runtime to work with it, something i’m not familiar with technically and as a term.I do not possess this kind of knowledge. My point is, i kindly ask if someone of the community would be willing to create a runtime for overlap2d (the author claims it to be super easy) and give a huge boost to the quality, development time and ease our games are created, or point me and direct me accordingly so i can try and create it myself. Thanks to everyone that took the time to read this.

for reference: http://overlap2d.com/

Looks promising indeed. I don’t know yet for sure, but it seems that Cocos Creator will also be able to be used just as a scene editor for classic cocos projects. In that case, Cocos Creator will have the advantage that it’s extensible, and probably the runtime will be integrated in cocos2d-x, and soon, it will support physics editor. Anyway, even if that won’t be the case, because of it’s extensibility I think Cocos Creator could be configured to export data in a format just like Cocos Studio used to output, and in that case the runtime already exists and is integrated in all cocos versions(c++, js and lua).

Anyway, I don’t really have time now, but I’ll sure give it a try. And, I need to see the json output, if it’s similar to the one produced by Cocos Studio, then the runtime should be relatively easy to write, minor changes to the existing Studio API.