OS X compatibility

Hello,

I am completely new to the Cocos2d-X, so i am sorry if this question is silly. Can I use this framework to also build game for MAC? Currently I don’t see any project dedicated for OS X. And second question is about Win32 port, i am supposing that it still runs on OpenGL (ES). Is there a way or someone who is working on DirectX port for w32 platform?

Thanks …

Jirka

1. cocos2d-x hasn’t support osx yet. It’s in the plan but maybe in 2~3 months later
  2. win32 port depends on PowerVR OpenGL ES library. It will be move to OpenGL dependance. Why you perfer DirectX than OpenGL?

It’s rather psychological reason. Currently we are developing casual games (win32/mac) - approx. 5 - 6 published. It was written a lot of articles about win7/vista performance issues with opengl. That’s why i am asking.

My question is: We would be able to write DX wrapper/implementation by ourselves. But we are kind of worried about huge variety of cards/hw. Would it be possible for you (cocos2x) to adopt back this wrapper? There are secret hopes behind that our code would be revised tested by other developers which would surely appreciate option of running on different render engines.

Jirka

Sorry, the feature of renderer wrapper isn’t in our plan.
cocos2d-x is mainly facing to the mobile games dev. For desktop games, flash is the most popular solution to write tiny games and cross-platform.

I too would love to see the OSX version running. I’m writing a tool to help me layout the levels in OSX using wxWidgets and cocos2d-mac, but would love to use the c*+ version as that is the version I would like to use in the c*+ port.

Nick

I would also be interested in a DirectX option for Win32. OpenGL is very good, but if the system is Win7/Vista and the user does not have a dedicated video card, it will work a lot better with DirectX.