New to Cocos, please, need help

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Cocos (came from Unity) and confused with its support of JS and C++. Not long ago the beta version of “all-in-one” Cocos was released. I mainly want to target android, 2D games with physics. So my questions are:

• Cocos2D-X, JS or beta of X-JS? If I choose Cocos2D-JS, will I be able to make C++ ptojects with it? Else if I download Cocos2D-X, can I test my games in browser?

• Is it necessary to have Visual Studio installed to test apps on Windows? Compiler says: Can't find correct Visual Studio's path in the regedit.

• How to properely set up the IDEA environment (Cocos IDE v2.0)? There’s no articles at all. If I won’t set up it properely, I’d rather go to Eclipse.

Thank you very much for any help!

P.S. Sorry for my English.

Welcome!

You are in good hands :smile:

No. If you want to make c++ games, use -x

no

yes it is necessary. There was someone using mingw but I don’t know how that ever made out. You can use the community edition that is free.

I am not sure, exactly, I don’t use Code IDE. I know that lots of people do. You would use this for JS and Lua apps only. NOT Cocos2d-x apps.

Thanks! And… I guess you’re tired of this kind of questions. What should I use - C++ or JavaScript? As I learned from on this forum, if your game is not so coplex and/or you want to publish it in the Web - use JS. In other cases - C++/Lua. Am I right?

I never get tired of any questions.

yeah, you can say that. Web = js. Anything else, JS, Lua or -X will work depending upon what you are comfortable with.

Hi, for complete information you could read Cocos2d-x Essentials book. As for me, youtube tutorials, information on forums and examples of other Cocos games will be enough, I suppose.

Awesome, thank you!

Hello @slackmoehrle!