Networking Extention

Hi all,
I am going to write a networking extension for cocos2d-x as my final year project in my undergraduate studies.
I am not a game developer and have not experience with game engines. Please tell me the functionalities you want to add in this game engine.
Also please tell me how can I register myself as authorized developer of this game engine.
I badly need guidance from the experts.
Thanks
Aqeel Raza

Please don’t post the same content 3 times in different subforums.
extensions/network/CCHttpClient & CCHttpRequest is a start point, you can refer to this.
But what we lacked are:
# socket support. Many developers asked if cocos2d-x has socket API. The answer is no, you need to call BSD socket API from ios sdk & android ndk. People need to deal with multi-thread programming, take care of autorelease pool, keep the network thread from calling OpenGL functions etc. It’s not hard, but many beginners are trapped here
# As the progress of javascript binding, we have no unified API for network on both cocos2d-x & cocos2d-html5. On cocos2d-x, we use CCHttpClient/CCHttpReqeust, while on cocos2d-html5, we use XMLHttpRequest. If you can design a wrapper for both libcurl (the 3rd library under CCHttpClient) and XMLHttpRequest, That would be awesome!

Hi, I am sorry for the repetition. But thanks for the comments. I am thinking of adding server like photon server for cocos. Would it be much difficult or I can do it? I have around 7 to 8 Months along with my courses. Do you like the idea of making a server and writing client api for separate plateforms?
Also how can I be a registered as cocos2d-x developer on it site. I will send you a project proposal very soon.

Why do programmers require socket call? Programmers make their own server? Or they use it for p2p communication?
I will include multithreading, auto pool releasing and socket api.I want to know what level of abstraction programmers require?

Thanks
Aqeel Raza