Multi Project Setup

Hi,

I’m currently evaluating cocos2dx for a project that I’m working on. My experience has been in game console programming (ps3, xbox). This will be my first time doing mobile and I have little experience developing on a mac.

I’m trying to figure out the best way of creating a project tree with shared game code between Win32, Mac, iOS, and Android. The goal being shared game code and the ability to update cocos2dx to newer versions without rebuilding the projects.

I want a project tree like this:
* Project/
*** cocos2dx_base/
***** cocos2dx/
***** CocosDenshion/
***** extensions/
***** external/
*** game/
*** Classes/
*** proj.android/
*** proj.ios/
*** proj.mac/
*** proj.win32/
*** Resources/

I’ve managed to set this up quite easily for Win32 since all the libs have VC project files. All I had to do was create a new solution and game project and then add the lib projects I needed.

For iOS and Mac there are not any projects for the individual libs, except for cocos2dx.xcodeproj.

It seems the easiest way is to copied the TestCpp sample out and fixed up the paths, projects settings, etc… Similar to [[http://paralaxer.com/cocos2d-x-project-setup/]]. But that method is quite time consuming and doesn’t allow for easy updating of cocos2dx.

I hope that all made sense. Am I missing something? Is there an easier way of doing this?

Thanks.

I just came across this feature [[http://www.cocos2d-x.org/issues/1488]], which may be exactly what I was asking about. Can someone explain what the feature will consist of?

Thanks.

I advise to set up a project in VS (win32), iOS (XCode) and Eclipse and share the code (JUST the code) via Git.
I did this myself in our project.
Sadly you have to register newly added resources every time in the corresponding IDE.
So the typical work flow is as follows:
~~Create new project with cocos template in IDE.
~~Clone project form repo.
~~Copy project setup data in the cloned project and set them to git ignore list