Long Running AI Routine, Need help with multi-threading

I am making a game where the computer player runs a routine recursively to find the best move. As the moves get more complex this routine can take several seconds to complete. That’s fine except that it blocks the main thread and my animations stop until the routine is done.

I want to put that routine into a separate thread but can not find any useful information on how to do so in a cross-platform way.

Can someone who has successfully done multi-threading please provide advice on how to accomplish this. I need a method that will work across all cocos2d-x supported platforms.

It doesn’t have to be a separate thread, if there is a way to do this without it that would probably be even better.

I’m fairly new to this framework and so far I think it’s fantastic.

Thanks.

is the schedule method of no help?? you could try performing operations inside a custom method that you can schedule to be called at any given time interval and have your operations performed in that function.

Thanks for the suggestion, much appreciated. I had thought about using the scheduler but I was hoping there might be a better solution.

My main concern is that this routine calls itself over and over passing itself altered copies of the original arguments. This means that at each level of recursion there is a local variable with a unique value for that particular recursion. If I was to schedule the method to run at certain intervals, the method would have to leave prematurely, and once exited I would lose all of that information. Or I would have to store all of those values, creating a mess and wasting memory. At this point, I don’t see a way to have it work without the entire routine being allowed to complete in one shot. Does that make sense?