Logic Help - CCLabelBMFont - Action Move - Detecting if labels collide

I’ve been thinking about this for awhile and can’t wrap my head around the logic to accomplish the following.

My game has random words that fall tetris style, created in a CCARRAY with CCLabelBMFont. I would like these labels to continue dropping at random spots, however if one label is going to intersect with another label I would like them to stack on top of each other.

As they drop: FallingWord1
>
>
FallingWord2
>
>
Result: FallingWord1
FallingWord2

Any help on the logic would be much appreciated. I am fairly new to cocos2d and haven’t done C++ for a very long time. Very thankful for Cocos2d, loving it so far.

My big issue right now is, I spawn each of these labels the same way enemies are spawned in the SimpleGame example. The movement starts each time addSprite is called, where would I be able to implement the code to check each labels ending coordinates before the move ends?

Thanks in advance

Ryan

I think I found what I need to do. I could use a little help on actions though.

Currently whenever I add a falling word I make a CCRect that I pass into an array. I can then loop through that array to see if any of the rectangles intersect with the newly spawned word and adjust the new words Y coords so that it will sit on top of the existing word.

My issue is, each time I spawn a word I use CCFiniteTimeAction with CCMoveTo, during the move I may need to adjust the end position. What is the proper way to adjust an existing move, do I have to find its tag and stop it and then do a new move with the new location or is there a better way?

Here are the parts of my code that are relevant to this question.