How to make Isometric 3D Game (Space Marshal)

Hello I am very new to cocos2d-x. I want to create a game like Space Marshals or reckless race 3 . How can I make 3D isometric games. I’ve been working on several 2D games to learn. But as I said I want to make a game like Space Marshals 1 and 2 . Where should I start. What is the path should I follow ? should I use another engine like unity etc. ?

Probably easier to make those game with Unity.

There are some pretty elaborate 3D titles out that have used Cocos2d-x. I think that you could make this. What might be a downside with Cocso2d-x is that we don’t have a built in tool to do this type of modeling/creating, etc. You would need to use another tool like Maya or Blender.

Actually you can build an isometric game in Cocos2d-x. You don’t need 3D engine or even physics for that. Actually the reason for isometric rendering is that it’s not 3D. You have to create a two dimensional grid, then render the tiles in 2:1 aspect ratio. They are all images btw, it sprites. You have to then describe your map with objects, tunnels etc. And use A* path finding for your character to negotiate it.

You’ll have to do similar things in Unity even if 3D. Path finding is the key, not 3D-ness or collisions. Path finding takes into account collisions. You can overlay weapons firing etc on top of isometric layer and use particle system for effects.

Let us know how it goes :slight_smile:

1 Like

I guess you would call this 2.5D?

@slackmoehrle yes, the technique is 2.5D but it’s not a 3D world based implementation.

We are using 3d max for modeling. I just want to know about isometric 3D map desing if tile map has. and character movement , AI for 3D lights shadow camera etc. like space marshal 2.5 or 3D . Do u have any link for cocos2d-x 3D tutorial