How to load Cocos2dx Sprite?

Hi I am just wondering, how do you load a single sprite? For example:

auto sprite1 = Sprite::create(“assets/sprite1.png”);

I am just learning Cocos2dx, please do not link me on tutorials. They are very not helpful so far.

Thank you.

Tutorials are your friends and are your very best chance to actually learn Cocos2dx.

To you posted question, what do you mean, “load a single sprite” specifically?

The code you posted looks correct to load the sprite into memory, if you have the png in place.

To render it to the screen, you’ll need to add it to the scene as well.

I agree that tutorials are helpful, but only if we’ll written. But if you haven’t found a tutorial you like, have you tried looking at the wiki?

http://www.cocos2d-x.org/wiki/How_To_Create_Sprites

Thanks for the reply. So the code snippet works? I am actually coding on Visual Studio 2013 Express and wanted to make a Cocos2dx app for Windows Desktop. This is just for learning purposes. I tried the tutorials and I play around with the code provided by the template and it always crash on this line:

addChild(sprite,1);

I believe we cannot add sprite since the function that loads the sprite returns nullptr. It crashes due to assert.

. I believe it can’t seem to find the image. I really need help. Any ideas? I am using Cocos2dx 3.3 Visual Studio 2013 Express.

Thank you.

2 problems:

You’re doing
addChild(sprite,1);
while your variable is sprite1

Secondly, the above shouldn’t be problem because ide would notify or it won’t compile. Crashing is problem with run time where your image is not getting located…
So, instead of

Try just “sprite1.png”

Hi Thanks, I did both and I still got the same error. I don’t know what causes it. I will try to create a new project and try it again. Thanks for helping.