How to create network connections using cocos2d-x?

Hello!
I’m a french student and with my group we try to create a game using cocos2d-x wich will be playing on iPhone and Android.
We have a problem with the network communications.
We don’t know in fact how to create sockets and connections to a server using the library of cocos2d-x.
We have seen that the libcurl library could help us but we don’t know how to use it.
I’m sorry for my bad english.:slight_smile:

Thanks for your answers.

Hi,
What we’ve used so far is libcurl making http requests to a web server (ASP.NET MVC but anything should work as long as you keep the responses a short as possible). This means you won’t actually have an opened connection all the time, but rather per request basis.

Depending on the type of game you are creating you might run into performance issues with this approach but I can tell you we’ve built a RTS game making sync requests for about 15 times per second and so far it looks good.

This approach will also enable your users to play together from both Android and IOS.

If you need more info let me know.

Several months ago, I wrote CCHttpClient, a easier wrapper for libcurl.
You can find the source code in cocos2d-x/extensions/network.
And you can find its sample code and usage from cocos2d-x/samples/TestCpp/Classes/ExtensionsTest/NetworkTest

Thanks for your answers Christian and Zhe, it’s very kind of yours.
In fact,for our game we use a galaxy tab as our server and the players will play with theirs phones by communicate with the tablet with wifi.
So, we won’t work with a web server and Http sockets.
We want to use sockets for wifi.
I’m sorry again for my english and the fact that I have not be very clear in my problem’s description.

In this case your best bet would be to make a wrapper for network operations through JNI for Android (basically write the code in Java and access it in C++ through JNI) and Obj-C for IOS.