Hello From India !!

hello all from India

i am a beginner in cocos2dx and good at libgdx.But libgdx is too detail oreinted and after watching the source code of cocos2dx game its coming naturally to me.
I want to learn the Box2d implementation in cocos2dx using eclipse on windows.Because i found the same thing(box2d) in libgdx very flexible and it gives life to your game.

I have downloaded the cocos2dx 2.0.1 version and want to know how to use box2d in my game.

I have downloaded cygwin.Made my first HelloWorld game and i am already in love with cocos.
Hope someone will help me in using Box2d with eclipse on windows for my cocos game.

Install Ubuntu.

May i know why i need to install Ubuntu if i already have Cocos2dx setuped on my windows machine(using eclipse) running successfully HelloWorld Project ?

Hi Ram,

To use box2d, you need to create the “virtual” box2d world that represents a scaled down version of your real world. You could use a scale of 1:1 too if you like.

The box2d world consists of polygons, circles, rectangles, etc. These are then used to test intersection and perform physics solutions.

If C++ and Windows is the way you are familiar with coding, then you are good to go. You should be able to build the Windows8 project on your box, if it is Windows 8 of course.

If you were a .NET developer then you could also use the cocos2d-xna variant of the library which also has a direct port of box2d in it.

So its a budding community …thanks for the responses first…

@Jacob : thanks for summerising those facts about box2d…but how to use it in the HelloWorld Project (eclispe) ?

Hi Ram, I am not familiar with the hello world project. Chances are you need to use a physics sprite that knows how to interpret itself in the box2d world, so you can transform it according to the box2d solvers.