Heavily considering switching to Godot. Should I?

I’m beginning to really consider using Godot. It looks like it’ll make things a lot easier. My main 2 questions are:

1. Any reasons cocos2d-x is better? Godot, in my opinion, looks a whole lot simpler to use. It just like Visual Basic, drop the objects on the screen and assign them jobs. In cocos2d-x it’s a bit more different.

2. If I did switch to Godot, would I still be able to get help from this cocos2d-x forum? Let’s say I, for example, wanted to make an in-game slingshot within Godot, would it be exactly the same way I’d make it inside cocos2d-x?

Thank you.

I think that with these words you have answered your question.
I would like to have 100% control of my code. I don’t like the tools that generate code automatically because, in the end, you don’t understand your code.

Yes, maybe it’s friendly, but I’m a programmer, not a user. :slight_smile:

P.S.: I prefer cocos2d, obviusly.

Have you looked at Cocos Creator yet?

Godot and cocos2d-x are not the same. So if you switch to GoDot why would you ask questions in these forums?

Take the time and figure out which engine is good for you. If a more visual path to development suits you better use GoDot or Unity. If you want to learn to code and apply your coding skills to your future (in any industry) then stick with cocos2d-x. If someday you write a console level game use UnReal for that (unless we target consokeanofficially by then).

If you want to switch to JavaScript try out Creator.

To really learn programming or game creating I think you should learn about a programming language first. Go with a managed language to understand the concepts of coding.
You can create powerful games using managed languages like java. If you really want to push the boundaries in perfomance consider switching to e.g. c++ then. It doesnt make a huge difference on 1 person projects I think.