Encapsulating the CCSprite and Box2D classes in an 'Actor'

Hello,

I am new to Cocos2D-x and have been putting in some thought about the best way to design an Actor class that will encapsulate the CCSprite and a b2Body for my Box2D physics game. Is it better to extend the CCObject, CCSprite or neither and just create a ‘Wrapper’ class for the two? So far, I’ve stuck with creating a wrapper to hold both of the objects.
Here is my abstract, and I’d love to see what other people think/have come up with!

`enum BodyType {
Box,
Circle
};

class Actor {
b2Body* body;
CCSprite* sprite;
b2World* world;
BodyType* type;
public:
static Actor* create(b2World* w, CCSprite* s, BodyType type);
static Actor* create(b2World* w, CCSprite* s);
static Actor* create(b2World* w, string image, BodyType type);
static Actor* create(b2World* w, string image);

Actor(b2World* w, CCSprite* s);
Actor(b2World* w, string image);
~Actor();

void update(); //update CCSprite's position and rotation and set it to body's

};`

Thanks,
Nick

I think the simpliest way for cocos2d-x and box2d is to inherit CCNode (or CCSprite or whatever you need to draw you game object) and incapsulate pointer to b2Body. update(ccTime) needs to be overriden (or a custom method scheduled) to sync b2Body’s movements to CCNode.

OK, so I’ve overriden update(CCTime) and it doesn’t appear as though it is being called. I also tried update(float dt) but neither of them are being automatically called.
Is there a certain method that I can override which will automatically be called by cocos2d-x or do I need to specifically loop over all of my Actors and call each individual update method inside my CCLayer’s update method?
In other words, is there a loop where CCLayer automatically calls its children’s updates or do I need to create that loop myself?
I’m trying to avoid having unnecessary loops and condensing potentially two loops into one.