Debugging Android Cocos2dx-3.0(rc2) with Visual Studio and Tegra Nsight 1.5

I have been writing NDK since 2011, and I love MSVC as a debugger… I was excited when Nvidia just released Nsight 1.5 which has good support for Android on MSVC. I’m just NOW learning Cocos2d-x, so I decided to see if I could get them all working together this evening. And I had great success!

My goal was to create a standard cocos2d-x 3.0 project which supports Win32, and use that same MSVC sln to include an Android project that could be debugged through Visual Studio also.

I figured I’d write about it, since maybe others want to do the same thing, and the community could probably improve this process.

Ok, you need to realize that this depends on the Android tools that Nvidia has been releasing… They created the TADP, which includes ALL tools you’d need to set up an Android debug environment, Eclipse or Visual Studio, SDKs, NDK, Ant, etc… or if you already have a setup and VS2012, you just need to install Nsight 1.5 for NDK.

TADP here: https://developer.nvidia.com/content/all-new-tegra-android-development-pack-20r8-now-available-under-nvidia-gameworks
Nsight here: http://docs.nvidia.com/gameworks/index.html#developertools/mobile/nsight_tegra_v1_5.htm%3FTocPath%3DDeveloper%20Tools|Mobile%20Developer%20Tools|Nsight%20Tegra%2C%20Visual%20Studio%20Edition|Nsight%20Tegra%20Visual%20Studio%20Edition%201.5|_____0

Now, assuming that installs and you can debug their samples in Visual Studio 2012, let’s debug some cocos2d! The thing that took me the longest was reconciling PATHs because I had a bunch of different installations of python and android laying around, but the actual process is fairly straightforward.

Create a new project:

cocos new MyGame -p com.mygame -l cpp -d d:\test_app

inside d:\test_app\MyCppGame\proj.win32 is a sln file: MyCppGame.sln, Open that in VS2012.

Compile and build the win32 version to make sure that it runs and debugs. Then stop debugging.