Cocos2d-x vs Cocos2d-js for mobile games

Hi all,

I’m new to cocos2d, i’m curious to know what is the main difference between cocos2d-x and cocos2d-js?

Is cocos2d-js support for windows phone 8?

And also, Is cocos2d-x version 3 support for windows phone 8?

We are planning to create a mobile games for IOS, Android, WindowsPhone and Web.

Thank You.

choose cocos2d-js if web is your main target.

Pros
Super fast iteration when developing.
Able to update the game without app store submission

Cons
Hard to debug complex projects
Hard to add 3rd party SDKs because of the js binding process.
Even less documentation than -x :frowning:

i would recommend for now stay away from WEB if you not have enough time to investigate and handle lots of issues :wink:

I chose cocos2d-js simply because my background is in web technologies. I am a web developer (JavaScript) so it was the best choice for me to stick with JS.

@efares
And how it goes? Can you show your released game with Cocos2d-x JS? :slight_smile:

So far it’s going well. I only started a few weeks ago so I’m kind of new to cocos2d as well.

I’m basically following this really useful game tutorial to learn the basic game development from beginning to having a final game: http://cocos2d-x.org/docs/tutorial/framework/html5/en

I’m about half way through it, taking notes as I go along, adding personal comments to my code.

Then I’m afraid:) that you will stuck at some point later :smile:

What about Text labels, have you noticed that all text is blurry?

Why do you think I will get stuck later? Are you saying the tutorial is bad or cocos2d-JS is bad?
And I don’t use Text labels, I make all my assets on Photoshop then add them as sprites, images or buttons.

I would say this framework is not ready for serious WEB development.

@energyy

The blur text labels is caused by different screen resolution and your design app resolution.

There is reported issue on GitHub but still in open status.