cocos2d-x Performance Tests

Hi All,

I’m new to both cocos2d and cocos2d-x (and C++, used c a looonnng time ago so lots to learn again :)). I’ve been setting up and playing with both cocos2d & cocos2d-x and thought I’d try running the ‘performance tests’ of both frameworks on my iPhone 4 and was expecting similar results but that doesn’t seem to be the case.

I’m using cocos2d-2.1beta3-x-2.1.0 & cocos2d-iphone-2.0 for the comparison. For cocos2d-x I’m using this project :-

/samples/TestCpp/proj.ios/TestCpp.xcodeproj

… and launching the performance tests from the menu in the app thats built. For cocos2d I’m using :-

/tests/PerformanceTests/cocos2d-ios-PerformanceTests.xcodeproj

I’ve run the ‘PerformanceSpriteTest’ for both frameworks and have the following test set & results :-

A (1)position - 250 nodes

cocos2d-2.1beta3-x-2.1.0 - 23.2 FPS
cocos2d-iphone-2.0 - 60.0 FPS

I noticed that the cocos2d-iphone-2.0 project was set for release and changed this back to debug to try and makes things ‘fair’ but the results are the same. Could somebody explain if this is normal behaviour and if not what sort of things would I need to do so I can make a fair comparison please ?

Awesome work by the way, been reading up on cocos2d and translating over quite easily even with my tiny brain :slight_smile:

Pete

Hi Again,

Thought I would try out the cocos2d-iphone-2.1-beta4 release as its closer to the beta3 the current packaged cocos2d-x build is based on. Still see the same behaviour unfortunately. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

Pete