Cocos Creator + Live2D (WEBGL)

Hello,

Can we integrate Live2D with cocos Creator, I have the OPENGL version up and running for Android and IOS but my specific needs are to implement it with JS module of Cocos2d-x, I have little to no experience with Js side of Cocos2d-x as i only program in C++, any pointers comments and suggestions are more then welcome.

Thanks

1 Like

Anyone please? I need it badly, pointers would be enough @pandamicro @slackmoehrle @nantas2 can you guys please summon the right person who might have slightest of idea and provide a much needed pointer here. Or Should i wait for Package Manager for cocos creator which might provide a little help with this? Also while at it lets say we end up implementing Live2D with cocos creator(WEB-GL) then how will it collaborate with Native Engine for Android & IOS(OPEN-GL).

Thanks a lot
Regards

I don’t know the answer, but I can ask someone to look at this thread.

You can already customize the web engine today:

1. fork this repo
  2. Do customization
  3. Change the engine directory to customized version in Preference > Native Develop > Javascript Engine Path

To be noted that the WebGL renderer is different with the native opengl renderer, and we are rewriting it in v1.2, you may want to take a look at this pull request. I strongly suggest you implement your Live2D renderer after this pull request get merged (within this week), because it brings auto batching to the web engine. You can take a look at CCSGSpriteWebGLRenderCmd’s uploadData method, it upload all vertex data to the global buffer and this will get batched automatically (if texture, blend function, shader match).

You will need a component shared by the web and native engine, all our components are platform irrelevant, they are located in cocos2d/core/components. While it uses a scene graph node to be rendered, the scene graph node implementation is platform specific, and should have exactly the same APIs.