Building error and build mode

Hi, I’m new to game and c++ programming. I never use visual studio before.
I just want to ask some things:

1. I’m building cocos using this guide http://www.cocos2d-x.org/projects/cocos2d-x/wiki/Cocos2d-x_Application_Wizard_for_Visual_Studio_User_Guide
    I encountered this error:

Error 29 error LNK1181: cannot open input file ‘libExtensions.lib’ C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\samples\Cpp\AssetsManagerTest\proj.win32\LINK AssetsManagerTest
    Error 90 error MSB3073: The command “if not exist “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32” mkdir “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32”
    if exist “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32\CocosDragonJSRes” rd /s /q “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32\CocosDragonJSRes”
    mkdir “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32\CocosDragonJSRes”
    xcopy “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\samples\Javascript\CocosDragonJS\proj.win32…\scripting\javascript\bindings\js*.js” “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32\CocosDragonJSRes” /e /Y
    xcopy “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\samples\Javascript\CocosDragonJS\proj.win32…\Shared\games\CocosDragonJS\Published files Android” “C:\cocos2d-2.1rc0-x-2.1.2\Release.win32\CocosDragonJSRes” /e /Y
    :VCEnd” exited with code 4. C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets 124 5 CocosDragonJS

But I still can build my test project, are those files that failed to compile unneccessary? I encountered the same problem when using the build-win32.bat

1. The exe size when I build using ‘debug’ mode(Debug.win32) is 139kb while in ‘release’ mode(Release.win32) is 71kb. Why the sizes are different? Can you tell me what are the differences between those two? The only difference I see is the debug version has window resolution in title. When I want to develop the game, which mode should I use?

I’m using windows 7 64 bit with cocos 2.1.2-hotfix and visual 2012 studio express.