Best tools to use for developing cocos2d-x android game

Hi,

I am new here and trying to start developing android games with cocos2d-x. I have been lurking around this forum for few days now trying to figure out what to tool I need to use to kick start developing an android game.

I started first trying to configure cocos2d-x 3.16 on visual studio with 2015 with update 3. I quickly learned it wasn’t working, went and read installation guides and noticed that I needed to use v 3.13.1 and a special template. Didn’t have much luck their either. So I decided to look for other alternatives.

My next alternative was using android studio, I installed it and I was able to run cpptest on my device (samsung S8). Couldn’t run that same project on the default emulator because it kept crashing at start.

Next I tried to run a helloWolrd sample and I got the same problem of app crashing at start on both device and emulator.
The thing is that I am a total beginner when it comes to android development I have no past experience developing apps in android.

So my questions are:
Is android-studio currently the best way to use for cocos2d-x using C++? I read somewhere in this forum that I can setup gradle so I don’t need to use command-line compile code, what setting should that be? I also noticed that android studio does a lot of downloading when on the first start and it did almost everything automatically to get cpptest to work, but is there a preferred setting? any API that isn’t supported yet?
Would be nice if there is a detailed instructions on how to start a helloWorld project and the best way to modify the C++ code in android.

Is there a better IDE to use for android that can support latest android API?

Is there thing I better try to learn before developing C++ android games with cocos2d-x? like may be developing C++ android apps with android-studio?

Thanks in advance

I will start with my experience with android-studio till now.