(another) Cocos2d-js TypeScript Definitions Repo

I searched around for a good set of cocos2d-js TS definitions, but everything I could find looked abandoned. I’ve created my own repo here for anybody to use:

If there is already an active repo, please let me know. There’s no need to re-invent the wheel. Otherwise, I will continue to maintain this, and hopefully others will use it and help me improve what’s there (this is my first TS project, so there’s bound to be some weird stuff going on).

I will be shipping a small game written in TS, using cocos2d-js in the next few months, and what is defined here so far was done on an as-needed basis. Still, most of the base nodes, sprites, layers, labels, actions are all there.

Also, this is based off cocos2d 3.9. Anything marked as deprecated has been purposely left out!!

6 Likes

how do i used this? sorry just a noob here… :relaxed:

Download it (obviously), just getting everything as a zip file is perfectly fine if you don’t want to do a pull request. If you downloaded the zip file, unzip it wherever you want. I keep the library at the root of my project folder.

The main header file is located at “cocos2d/cocos2d-lib.d.ts”. Include that as a reference in your TypeScript files that refer to Cocos2d objects. The way Cocos2d-js implements classes, while clever, is still an inelegant hack and not completely compatible with TypeScript’s way of implementing classes (which itself is also kind of hacky, but there’s really no elegant way to do this in JS). So if you want to subclass any Cocos2d-js class, you have to remember to call the Cocos2d class’ ctor method in your custom class’ constructor. Here’s an example (disclaimer, if there are errors in the code below, I don’t care):

namespace example {
  export class MyCustomNode extends cc.Node {
    public constructor() {
      super(); // <-- this doesn't really do anything